Learning about art & life from our Artisans

I’m from India and we have a lot of native handicrafts and I work in the field of handicrafts because of my love for people and creativity. But for these artisans who create beautiful handicrafts, creation is not just a means of self expression but an essential activity for survival. Most of them who reside in rural India, are solely dependent on their craft for their day to day living expenses since they do not possess any other skill. Further, women who have traditionally been neglected & uneducated are left with little other means for survival and financial independence. My artisans who make patachitra paintings, handloom stoles, paper mache articles are each unique people..

They sit in the heat without fans, painting, weaving or working at the furnace (for Dhokra products) tirelessly. You don’t hear them complain. Give them constructive feedback, new designs to work upon, point out processes that can be modified and  watch them strive towards it in the good faith that all improvements will help bring in more work.

The fact that they leave aside their everyday worries, come for meetings & take pains to grow in their chosen professions is commendable. They remind us that the things we take for granted (such as easy money & a good life) are to be cherished and if possible shared.

We salute them. Admiring our Artisans – Admiration

Author: Beckonlife

Hi! I'm Leena and while I'm a WFHM (work from home mom), I'm a lot of other things too. I'm a woman who really believes that Women have it all, but whether they use it or not is where the difference comes in. I toed the corporate life for 13 years and then yes, I did it! I quit to start working for myself and I'm loving every bit of it. I work with artisans in rural areas of India and help them eke out a living. My blog is about Outliving one's life and not letting life pass by. I hope to share tips of leading a full, balanced, healthy and happy life - making time for self, kids, family & friends and those less fortunate than us. I live in Mumbai, India with 2 wonderful children, husband and in-laws. I'll be sharing some funny incidents, some learnings, some advice, some tips on food, travel, decor, relationships , parenting, in-lawing (if there's a word like that ;)) and a lot more. I do hope you enjoy my blogs cause while I write them for myself, I'd love it if it's relevant & enjoyable to you & of course I do hope to learn a few things from you. Happy Sharing to us!

One thought on “Learning about art & life from our Artisans”

Leave a Reply

